Currently, registered motor vehicles are listed automatically with the tax office when you register or renew your registration through the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles. Motor vehicles are valued by year, make, and model. Your renewal invitation, sent by the DMV, will include county and town taxes, if applicable.


The North Carolina General Assembly passed a law in 2013 to create a combined motor vehicle registration renewal and property tax collection system. The new law transfers the responsibility for tagged motor vehicle tax collection from the County Tax Office to the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). After September 2013 all registration and vehicle tax fees are due together at the time of renewal. These can be made payable to the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles.

For further information on obtaining new tags, or paying taxes on any registered vehicles, please see the NC Department of Motor Vehicles website.


Information about vehicle appeals and proration of vehicle tax bills is printed on the back of the original tax notice. You may appeal the value within 30 days of the billing date. You may request a proration if the vehicle has been sold, wrecked, stolen, junked, or registered out of state provided that the license plate has surrendered to the DMV and a copy of the receipt of surrender is given to our office within 1 year.



Motor_Vehicle_Exemption.pdf Motor Vehicle Exemption Form