Concealed Handgun Permits
The Concealed Handgun Permit was enacted by the North Carolina General Assembly and became effective December 1, 1995. The law allows approved individuals to carry a concealed handgun, within limits, if they have received a concealed handgun permit from the Sheriff of their county of residence.

The permittee must carry the permit, along with valid identification, whenever in possession of a concealed handgun. The permittee must advise a law enforcement officer, when approached, that he has as valid permit and is carrying a concealed handgun. Upon the officer's request, the permittee must show both the permit and valid identification.

New permits are valid throughout North Carolina for four years from the date of issuance.
 

Areas where Concealed Handguns are Prohibited

Certain areas prohibit concealed handguns. The areas where concealed handguns are not allowed include, but are not limited to:

 

  • State property.

     

  • Public gatherings (such as funerals and parades).

     

  • Any law enforcement or correctional facility.

     

  • Financial institutions.

     

  • Areas prohibited by federal law.

     

  • Areas where alcohol is sold and consumed.

     

  • Any premise where the legal owner has posted a conspicuous notice that concealed handguns are not allowed.

 


 

Permit Requirements

In order to obtain a concealed handgun permit, you must meet all of the following criteria:

 

  • Be a resident of North Carolina for at least 30 days prior to the date of your application.

     

  • Be at least 21 years of age.

     

  • Not suffer from any physical or mental weakness that prevents safe handling of a handgun.

     

  • Have successfully completed an approved firearms safety and training course, except when applying for an emergency temporary permit.

 


 

How to Apply for a Permit

In order to apply for a concealed handgun permit you must complete the following steps:

 

  • Submit a completed application form with a notarized statement.

     

  • Pay a non-refundable $80 fee.

     

  • Submit two sets of fingerprints. The Sheriff's Office will charge the applicant $10 to cover the cost of processing the fingerprints.

     

  • Submit a physical and mental health release form. This form must authorize the disclosure to the Sheriff of any record concerning the physical and mental health of the applicant.

     

  • Submit original certification showing completion of an approved firearms safety course. To register for a course, contact either your local community college or any sporting goods store to obtain a list of certified instructors.

    Note:  This certification is not required for an emergency temporary permit.

 

 
Home | News and Information | Board of Commissioners | Departments | Directory | Employment Opportunities | Employee Login | Deeds Online | GIS Online | Tax Online | Tourism Development Authority | Request for Information